IAMG Days 2021

The COVID-19 pandemic has caused most of our meetings and conferences to be cancelled or deferred. To ensure that we continue to engage actively with our members, your Council has planned a series of three on-line events, each for approximately two hours. In this on-line events the awardees of the 2020 and 2021 IAMG awards present their results in a talk with a discussion afterwards.
If you want to hear the speach of each of the awardees you can register for free on our website.
The presentations will be on zoom in the week from August 23th till August 27th, on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Each block will start at 11:30 am in UTC formerly known as Greenwich Mean Time. This would, for example, be:
Local Time UTC
Greenwich Mean Time 11:30 GMT+0
London 12:30 BST+1
Paris 13:30 CEST+2
Berlin 13:30 CEST+2
Beijing 19:30 CST+8
Perth 19:30 AWST+8
Adelaide 21:00 ACST+9:30
Montreal 07:30 EDT-4
Los Angeles 04:30 PDT-7
For more information see the program details below.
We hope to see you there.

Program Overview

Monday
23rd August
Awards presentations
11:30 am UTCIntroduction from the PresidentProf. Peter Dowd
11:40 am UTCKrumbein Medal 2020 lecture: Prof. Jaime Gómez-Hernández
12:30 am UTCJohn Cedric Griffiths Teaching Award 2020:Prof. Gang Liu
13:20 am UTCInformation about IAMG2022:Prof. Guillaume Caumon
Wednesday
25th August
Awards presentations
11:30 am UTCShort introduction from the moderator
11:35 am UTCFelix Chayes Prize 2021:Dr. Grethe Hystad
12:15 am UTCMatheron Lecturer 2020:Prof. Marc Genton
12:55 am UTCDistinguished Lecturer 2020:Prof. Peter Atkinson
Friday
27th August
Young Scientists presentations
11:30 am UTCShort introduction from the moderator
11:35 am UTCFounders Scholarship 2020:Dr. Behnam Sadeghi
12:05 am UTCFounders Scholarship 2021:Shubin Zhou
12:35 am UTCVistelius Research Awards 2021Dr. Francky Fouedjio
13:05 am UTCVistelius Research Awards 2021Dr. Vanessa Godoy

Program Details

Jaime Gómez-Hernández

Jaime graduated as a civil engineer from the Technical University of Valencia, then moved to Stanford University, where he received graduate degrees in Applied Hydrogeology and Geostatistics. After his return to Spain, he joined the faculty of the Technical University of Valencia and became full professor in 2000. His research has revolved around subsurface characterization for groundwater modeling with a focus on deep underground nuclear waste disposal, contaminant source identification, and quantification of prediction uncertainty. He won the 1999 Valencia Government Prize for Waste Research and Technology, and the 2020 Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Groundwater. In 2020, he was awarded the Krumbein Medal by the International Association of Mathematical Geosciences and is serving as their Distinguished Lecturer for 2021.

Talk title: The (short) history of contaminant source identification in aquifers

Scheduled: Monday, 23rd August, 11:40 UTC

Gang Liu

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Monday, 23rd August, 12:55 UTC

Grethe Hystad

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Wednesday, 25rd August, 11:35 UTC

Marc Genton

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Wednesday, 25rd August, 12:15 UTC

Peter Atkinson

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Wednesday, 25rd August, 12:55 UTC

Behnam Sadeghi

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Friday, 27rd August, 11:35 UTC

Shubin Zhou

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Friday, 27rd August, 12:05 UTC

Francky Fouedjio

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Friday, 27rd August, 12:35 UTC

Vanessa Godoy

Talk title: Coming Soon!

Scheduled: Friday, 27rd August, 13:05 UTC

Registration

Registration is free! Please register here with your IAMG membership login. You can choose one day or two or all three. In case of any questions please contact the IAMG office.